Buying guide

Best free electronic signature software: eight free plans and what each allows

Last reviewed October 10, 2026

Quick answerBoldSign Essential is the largest free plan here, with 25 envelopes a month. DocuSeal Basic allows 10 request emails a month, Zoho Sign and Xodo Sign 5, SignWell and Dropbox Sign 3, and Signaturely's free account 1.

Eight free e-signature plans, from the largest monthly allowance to the smallest

BoldSign Essential is the largest of the eight free plans compared here, at 25 envelopes a month. DocuSeal Basic allows 10 request emails a month, Zoho Sign Free 5 envelopes, Xodo Sign (formerly eversign) 5 documents, SignWell Free 3 documents, Dropbox Sign (formerly HelloSign) 3 documents, and Signaturely's free account 1 document a month, as read on October 10, 2026.

The units differ: envelopes at BoldSign and Zoho Sign, request emails at DocuSeal, and documents at the rest.

Eight free electronic signature plans, largest allowance first, as read on October 10, 2026
Free planMonthly allowanceUsers and templatesFirst paid plan, billed monthly
BoldSign Essential25 envelopes a month2 templates; no additional usersGrowth: $15 per user a month
DocuSeal Basic10 request emails a monthMultiple signers; user managementPro: $20 per user a month
Zoho Sign Free5 envelopes a monthSingle user onlyStandard: $12 per user a month, Zoho's US list price
Xodo Sign FreeUp to 5 documents a month, 1 every 7 daysNot statedBasic: $20 a month per seat on Monthly Billing
PandaDoc FreeCard: 60 documents a year. Table: 5 a month, sharedFor you and your team, per its cardStarter: $35 a month
SignWell Free3 documents a month1 sender; 1 templateLight: $12 a month
Dropbox Sign free account3 documents a month, per its free-signing pageNot statedEssentials: $20 a month
Signaturely free account1 document a month; no cardTemplate limit not statedPersonal: $25 a month

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.

Start a 7-day Signaturely trial →

Largest free allowances: BoldSign, DocuSeal, Zoho Sign and Xodo Sign

BoldSign Essential is $0 with 25 envelopes a month and 2 templates, and no additional users. DocuSeal Basic is $0 per user a month with 10 request emails a month and multiple signers; a DocuSeal user is a seat for someone who uses its app, not a signer. Zoho Sign Free gives a single user 5 envelopes a month. Xodo Sign Free allows up to 5 documents a month, 1 every 7 days, which spaces sends a week apart.

Three documents a month at SignWell and Dropbox Sign, and PandaDoc's two figures

SignWell Free is $0 for 1 sender, 1 template and 3 documents a month. Dropbox Sign's pricing page points to a free plan without a number; its free-signing page says a free account gets three free documents a month, and its paid plans send unlimited signature requests.

PandaDoc Free is $0 per month. Its plan card says 60 documents a year, and its comparison table says a shared limit of 5 a month.

Signaturely's free account and its 7-day trial

Signaturely's free account sends 1 free document a month, and its help center says it needs no card. The trial is separate: Signaturely's home page offers a free 7-day trial, and its pricing FAQ says documents are unlimited during it. Someone who skips the trial waits 24 hours to use the free plan, per the help center. Is Signaturely free? covers both in full.

When a free plan runs out: the first paid step at each vendor

The last column of the table gives each first paid plan on monthly billing, from $12 a month at SignWell Light and Zoho Sign Standard to $35 at PandaDoc Starter. Docusign is absent from the table because it has no free plan on the pages read; readers leaving it can start at Docusign alternatives. The cheapest electronic signature software list orders the paid plans on annual billing.

  • BoldSign Essential for the most free sends a month in this list, 25 envelopes.
  • DocuSeal Basic for 10 request emails a month.
  • SignWell Free for 3 documents a month with 1 template.
  • Signaturely's free account for a reader who sends 1 document a month and may step up to Personal at $25 a month, billed monthly.

Sources used for this page

The facts above come from the pages below, read on October 10, 2026. We have not used these products hands-on. Prices and terms change, so confirm them on the vendor's site before you buy.

  1. Pricing | Signaturely — Vendor pricing page · signaturely.com · read October 10, 2026
  2. Signaturely home page — Vendor product page · signaturely.com · read October 10, 2026
  3. Is Signaturely free? | Signaturely help center — Vendor documentation · help.signaturely.com · read October 10, 2026
  4. Terms of Service | Signaturely — Vendor legal page · signaturely.com · read October 10, 2026
  5. HelloSign alternatives | Signaturely — Vendor product page · signaturely.com · read October 10, 2026
  6. Electronic signature pricing | BoldSign — Vendor pricing page · boldsign.com · read October 10, 2026
  7. Pricing | DocuSeal — Vendor pricing page · docuseal.com · read October 10, 2026
  8. Pricing | Zoho Sign — Vendor pricing page · zoho.com · read October 10, 2026
  9. Plans & Pricing | Xodo Sign (formerly eversign) — Vendor pricing page · xodosign.com · read October 10, 2026
  10. Pricing | PandaDoc — Vendor pricing page · pandadoc.com · read October 10, 2026
  11. Pricing | SignWell — Vendor pricing page · signwell.com · read October 10, 2026
  12. Dropbox Sign pricing — Vendor pricing page · sign.dropbox.com · read October 10, 2026
  13. Free document signing | Dropbox Sign — Vendor product page · sign.dropbox.com · read October 10, 2026